For auld lang syne, my dears

1385237_10151906005362719_501409255_nThis will be a brief one as I’m running uncharacteristically late, but I want to write one more post for the year …

It’s been a challenging one for many of us. Relationships have ended and begun, job situations have changed, loved ones have passed on. The world is in chaos, the weather makes no sense, avocados are expensive.

I choose to end this year with gratitude, for even with all of the uncertainty that marks my life, I have much to be grateful for.

I’ve just turned 45 and while I’m still a work in progress—and, in fact, I hope to always be—I have a fairly clear understanding of who I am and why I am. If you know me in real life you probably know that love, in all its manifestations, is the thing that most motivates me, the thing I care about above all else. I have spent the time since Thanksgiving surrounded by family and friends and boundless amounts of love, romantic and otherwise. My heart is full.

To everyone who was a part of my year, I thank you with all of my heart for your friendship and support, your encouragement, patience, acceptance and forgiveness, and for making my life rich. You’ve made me laugh, let me cry, read my work, given me work, made me work out, worked with me, co-parented Louie, cooked for me, dared to eat my cooking, and so much more. Some of us have traveled to distant lands, and most of you have accommodated my love of not venturing very far from my living room in order to socialize.

There is much more to say about 2015, and I will do so tomorrow. The champagne’s not going to open itself.

Happy new year, my dears. Make 2016 the year you shine brighter than ever before.

Leave a Reply

