Addendum

IMG_5517
I just took L for a walk and while we were out there on the mean streets of Chelsea I figured out something that has been eluding me – and that I absolutely need – I figured out what my three main characters want. That is, according to every writer/writing instructor/filmmaker I’ve ever read or heard, the most important element to story – figuring out what very basic thing it is that your characters want. And so I realized that: J wants to matter, D wants comfort, and M wants forgiveness.

I guess it goes without saying that these are all things their inventor wants, too.

L and I rode the elevator with a man, a neighbor, who has no idea who I am but who I know because he bought a piece of artwork from a dear friend of mine and his wife used to be my mom’s yoga instructor.

Thanks, New York City. And thanks, Louie, for asking me to take you out a little earlier than usual.

Leave a Reply

