We can be heroes, if just for one day …

Image

I’m watching my fourth movie of the weekend right now – didn’t type through the other three, but this is the weakest link. Still, it fits with the theme: protagonists who feel alone in the world until the right one, or ones, come along. This weekend I’ve seen Blue is the Warmest Color, It’s a Wonderful Life, The Ghost and Mrs. Muir, and now, The Perks of Being a Wallflower. The message: Don’t give up. Someone loves you. Errors in judgment don’t define us. And, we’re the sum of all our parts, not just the missteps. 

Seeing It’s a Wonderful Life was long overdue and an absolute gift. Before seeing it I’d thought of it as a sentimental Christmas movie. It’s so much more than that. 

My goodness I want to look forward to the upcoming holidays but they’re always a gamble. I love my family completely. I do. But it”s a very challenging dynamic and one over which I have no control. As a kid I tried to – I tried to reason, bargain, leverage, beg, when there was a family conflict that didn’t involved me. And whether or not it actually did work, it seemed to. But then, much of what actually transpired when I was a kid was kept from me; as such, I’ve developed an unanswerable need to know what’s going on. One of the hardest things for me is uncertainty, and that it exists is perhaps the only certainty in life. 

I want a Hollywood ending. Not ending, I want to live happily ever after. So I will.

Leave a Reply

