Thanks to you it will be done

Image

Thanksgiving eve – so much better where I am right this moment than on this eve last year, or the three years prior … this time last year I was having my protracted lost weekend, the year before that was a haze of surgery and Percocet and more surgery and more Percocet, the year before I was in the midst of completely altering the course of my life and I was heartbroken and worried and not at all sure I was doing the right thing. I’m still not sure I did, but I made decisions that felt right at the time. 

I suppose I should have started this post pre-aperitif but alas, I didn’t. So bear with me, dear friends. 

Right this moment I am good, really good, and I will savor this for as long as it lasts. This has been a pivotal year in so many ways and right this moment is the right time to express my gratitude. Alors:

  • I am grateful for my family
  • I am grateful that I get to see my parents on a regular basis
  • I am grateful that I got to spend time with my sister tonight and read her some of my writing and make her laugh when she wasn’t feeling well
  • I am grateful for my nephew and niece for their wonder and wisdom
  • I am grateful for my sweet doggie Lou who has been my darling companion, my familiar, my flatmate, my co-pilot (“Dog is my …”) for 11+ years
  • I am grateful for the friends I’ve had for years who don’t need context to understand me at any given moment and who’ve given me second, third, ninth, 60th chances when I’ve behaved without grace or dignity
  • I am grateful for the people who’ve been an integral part of my last several months and infused my life with music and color and beauty and hope
  • I am grateful for the people I’ve met once or twice who read and validate my words
  • I am grateful for my amazing writing group 
  • I am grateful for Professor Woolley who, in my last year at the wrong college, convinced me that I was okay at this writing thing
  • I am grateful for my sense of humor
  • I am grateful for — and I realize how this might sound but it bears stating – I am grateful for the men (+ one woman!) who work in the building that houses my home and who’ve kept us safe and informed no matter what was going on in the city around us
  • I am grateful for New York City
  • I am grateful for New Orleans
  • I am grateful for my time in San Francisco
  • I am reluctantly grateful for L.A.
  • I’m in love with Paris
  • I’m grateful for the dark times for showing me the light

Happy Thanksgivings, my darlings. 

2 thoughts on “Thanks to you it will be done

  1. Pingback: What Are You Grateful For? « Keitochan Says:

Leave a Reply

